Gopee-Scoon congratulates TTMA awardees


Minister of Trade and Industry Paula Gopee-Scoon. – FILE PHOTO

TRADE and Industry Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon says winners of the 2020 TT Manufacturers’ Association (TTMA) awards are “true exemplars of excellence.” She says they have proven to be stalwarts in the sector. Seven awardees were announced for various categories last week.

Winner of the Green Manufacturer of the Year Award was Trinidad Tissues Ltd. The ministry in a release said, “The company has managed to reduce wastage, manage its carbon footprint and contribute to energy conservation in TT.

“Minister Gopee-Scoon said ‘Toilet and facial tissue stock ranks in the top ten highest-exported commodities of TT, with over 250 per cent increase in exports over the period 2010 -2019.’” She also praised the CGA Ltd, winner of the Innovator of the Year Award, “for demonstrating its ability to revolutionise its product offering while utilising local inputs particularly in 2019.”

The Exporter of the Year Award went to SM Jaleel Ltd, Nestle Trinidad copped the Pivot Award. “SM Jaleel remains a pioneer amongst exporters, consistently expanding its market presence in several regional and international markets and putting the TT brand in the international community.

“Nestle must be congratulated for exhibiting true resilience during the covid19 pandemic, by ensuring business continuity amid all the restrictions and social distancing requirements,” the minister said.

RHS Ltd won Manufacturer of the Year (small and medium category) and Angostura Ltd won in the large category. “Angostura Ltd has been exemplary in innovation and has diversified export markets allowing it to rank as one of the top ten non-energy export, with over 150 per cent increase in exports over the period 2010 -2019,” Gopee-Scoon said. The release said, “Minister Gopee-Scoon also extended congratulations to Amjad Ali, Director of Advance Foam Ltd and a deserving recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

“She stated that ‘Mr Ali’s unwavering commitment to the growth and development of the non-energy manufacturing sector is noteworthy and has played an integral role of policy shaping both at the macro and micro levels.’” She said all awardees made “significant contributions” to GDP, local employment, innovation, promoting TT and “gave back whole-heartedly to communities and persons in need.

“The ministry is today reaffirming the government’s commitment to laying the foundation for sustainability, and raising the profile and potential of the domestic manufacturing sector. “Despite the trying circumstances presented by the covid19 pandemic, the awardees’ contribution to growing the non-energy sector of TT has been constant and consistent. They have proven to be the stalwarts in the sector.”

Back To Top